Set it thrice. Aim it twice. Fire it once.

Beautifully Grand

Happy Nu Year folk! (Is it a New World order yet?)

I again unapologetically apologize for my laziness..ahem, procrastination in putting up this post. Truth is, much has been going on since the turn of the new year. Good stuff mostly so yeah..be easy, inhale, exhale…I’m alive.

Rewind back to December for just a bit and I was on the road shuttling between Nairobi and Mombasa/Taita for 3 out of the 4 weekends. (I slept into the New Year. How lame is that??!!)

So while I was busy gallivanting left, right and centre, my 2 goals in photography were to shoot the landscape/hillscape of Taita (The Taita, the Better they say. Wise chaps me tells ya) and to shoot portraits of my grandfather.
I unfortunately wasn’t able to get the landscapes I really wanted primarily because of lack of time to just get away, set up and shoot. Was too busy overfeeding and bonding with fam (which is very important – Duh!)
So I was able to chat up me grandpa (maternal) and well I managed to sneak a couple of shots of him, while also getting a few of His grandkids (aka my cousins) in their ‘moments’.

..And it all made me realize when I looked into his eyes and how he just zoned out staring at us making fools of ourselves – Here is a man who has lived his life richly and fully. May God add onto his years.

Enjoy the appetizer.

And last but not least who doesn’t have one of these in their Ocha? [Countryside home]

~El Fin~

10 responses

  1. Nonnie

    Yes..V.E.R.Y lame that you slept into the new year.Guess that’s what you’ve been up to since then 😛

    January 11, 2011 at 16:28

    • I feel the love Nonnie. You don’t have to try sounding cold..:) Missed me?

      January 11, 2011 at 16:40

  2. dee

    shaddie,
    as always enjoy reading your words 🙂
    you really should do a satirical blog or pieces on society
    i love colored pictures. for BnW to work the contrast must be great -so keep working on the pics and am sure you’ll be globe trotting and sharing things on here
    x

    January 11, 2011 at 16:36

    • Hmmm..you did mention it before. Food for thought as I grow in the game..Thanks for the encouragement.

      January 11, 2011 at 16:41

  3. Kimm

    The camera loves Ndush. Thanks for immortalizing a great man

    January 13, 2011 at 08:54

    • Trully a great man. Twas an honor.

      January 13, 2011 at 11:00

  4. Those are really awesome images. I think that the subject matter is really touching and your images really capture the man that he is.

    January 13, 2011 at 18:19

    • Thx bro. He is indeed a very great and special man to me and many others.

      January 13, 2011 at 22:02

  5. As dee said, you should consider, I like your style of writting,. ( okay so this is the moment you say you are awesome like that and bask in your own glory,.. lol)
    Anyway, nice photos. I especially the second last one.
    oh ,.. and,.. we don’t have such a,…. okay whatever it is, in our Ocha.
    peace

    January 15, 2011 at 12:07

  6. mkawasi

    Great work very proud of you and indeed he is a great man.

    January 20, 2011 at 01:11

Leave a Reply

