Set it thrice. Aim it twice. Fire it once.

Family & A Friend

Hey good people!

What’s poppin’ yo? Hope all is well this fine Friday. Mine’s began well.

This post was a long time coming partly because I’d wanted to do it since forever but also because my cousin (whom you shall see below) coaxed me into it. So as usual I buzzed my partner in crime for such shoots, one @SteveKitots to help me out. A lot went under-way..OK, a little, since the models were slightly late for the shoot. So all in all we had to squeeze in whatever in about half an hour or so.

Anywho, one of the challenges in the shoot for me was using a 50mm lens f1.4, which is fully manual. To say I struggled with it is an understatement of epic proportions but once I kind of got the hang of it, I was chaffed by it’s brilliance. Almost never wanted to return it to it’s owner! [I returned it after he, the loaner, threatened me with his super-stardom and photographer celebrity status. I caved in like cards in a toilet bowl – sic!)

Long story short, the 2 models below are Chao and Asha. Chao is like my small sister so to speak. First cousin actually, and no I am not dishing out her number or email add. I met her friend Asha, whom they are bosom buddies, and Chao enticed me to a shoot.

Enough yap, this is a bit of what I captured.

N/B: Studio photography is not my forte so I was very extravagant in experimenting different feels and themes in my post processing work (grains, soft focus, tonal and hue adjustments, the works!)

All in all, for me, they are a representation of African beauty. Kenyan beauty.

Hope it makes sense to ya’ll!

~El Fin~

5 responses

  1. Cute shots.

    July 9, 2011 at 02:20

  2. Chao

    absolutely beautiful

    July 9, 2011 at 15:49

  3. Nonnie

    I looove the 1st shot.

    July 10, 2011 at 09:59

  4. Abalo Latigo

    The 5omm is A-mazing isnt it!!! Great work!! :o)

    October 26, 2011 at 00:13

    • Thanks! It is a great lens. The manual focus gave me a bit of a headache but with time…

      October 26, 2011 at 08:47

Leave a Reply

